Language Levels

To be able to estimate language levels, the European reference framework for the languages has been established. To measure the language level, we use this European reference framework of the CEFR. This is a guideline for the different languages to assess your language level. This way you can estimate for yourself what your language level is. The frame of reference applies to all languages.

The frame of reference describes a European scale of 6 language levels for the mastery of various skills: speaking, writing, listening & read. There are 3 levels (A, B, C) and they are divided into 2 sublevels:

A Basic User (A1/A2: Beginner)
B Independent user (B1/B2: advanced)
C Proficient user (C1/C2: advanced)

Brief description of language levels:

  • Language level A1 : Breakthrough – basic knowledge of the language, familiar everyday expressions and simple sentences.
  • Language level A2 : Intermediate step – familiar with commonly used expressions and can hold conversations about everyday matters.
  • Language level B1 : Threshold – can express own opinion and can describe experiences, events, dreams and expectations.
  • Language level B2 : Visualization – can understand the main points of complex texts, can produce clear, detailed text and can participate spontaneously in conversation.
  • Language level C1 : Effective operational skill – can express oneself fluently and can use the language flexibly and efficiently for social, academic and professional purposes.
  • Language level C2 : Mastery – can easily understand everything he/she hears or reads and can express himself/herself spontaneously, very fluently, precisely and nuanced, even in more complex situations.